1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

New R&B/Soul Albums: August 2011

What's New?


A compilation of previously unreleased material from Jill Scott leads a fairly weak list of R&B/Soul album releases for August 2011. Other than Miss Jill's final release for Hidden Beach Recordings, which is called From the Vault, the pickings for quality new music are pretty slim. There's a new project from the legendary Sly Stone, but it's made up of re-recordings of his old material. Also putting out new material: mature jazz-Soul vocalists Keb Mo and Chris Walker, as well as Minneapolis legend Alexander O'Neal, English funk-Soul band the New Mastersounds and others. For full details, have a look below.

1. Hidden Beach Presents: The Original Jill Scott From the Vault, Jill Scott

This collection of rare and previously-unreleased material by Jilly From Philly drops Aug. 30.


  1. Love to Love Prelude
  2. I Don't Know (Gotta Have You)
  3. Wondering Why? (You Don't Talk to Me)
  4. The Light
  5. Wake Up Baby
  6. Lovely Day
  7. Dear Mr. & Mrs. Record Industry
  8. Love to Love
  9. Running Away
  10. I'm Prettier
  11. Comes to Light (Everything)
  12. Holding On

2. I'm Back! Family and Friends, Sly Stone

Sly Stone, of Sly & the Family Stone fame, returns Aug. 16 with a collection of new remakes and remixes of some of his best and most well-known songs.


  1. Dance To The Music (feat. Ray Manzarek)
  2. Everyday People (feat. Ann Wilson)
  3. Family Affair
  4. Stand! (feat. Carmine Appice and Ernie Watts)
  5. Thank You (Falettinme Be Mice Elf Agin) (feat. Johnny Winter)
  6. (I Want To Take You) Higher (feat. Jeff Beck)
  7. Hot Fun In The Summertime (feat. Bootsy Collins)
  8. Dance To The Music (Extended Mix)
  9. Plain Jane
  10. His Eye is on the Sparrow
  11. Get Away
  12. Dance to the Music (Club Mix)
  13. Family Affair (Dubstep Mix)
  14. Thank You (Falettinme Be Mice Elf Agin) (Electro Club Mix)
Compare Prices

3. Zone, Chris Walker

Mr. Walker's latest mix of R&B, Jazz and pop tunes comes out Aug. 30 via Pendulum Records.


  1. Everyday Woman
  2. Off My Mind (Free My Mind)
  3. Wish We Never Met
  4. If Only For One Night-Intro
  5. If Only For One Night
  6. I Got That Love
  7. Mr. Invisible
  8. The Dance Of Love
  9. How Do You Heal A Broken Heart
  10. Purity
  11. That's What It Feel Like
  12. I Want You

4. Breaks From the Border, The New Mastersounds

This collection of new funk-rock songs will be released Aug. 9 via Tallest Man Records.


  1. Take What You Need
  2. Run the Gauntlet
  3. On the Border
  4. Free Man
  5. Freckles
  6. Passport
  7. Walk in These Shoes
  8. Josus
  9. Can You Get It?
  10. Turn It Up
  11. Up in the Air

5. The Reflection, Keb Mo

Instead of his usual soul blues, Keb Mo's latest project is a unique blend of R&B, jazz and pop. It comes out Aug. 2 via Yolabelle Distribution.


  1. The Whole Enchalada
  2. Inside Outside
  3. All the Way
  4. The Reflection (I See Myself in You)
  5. Crush On You
  6. One of These Nights
  7. My Baby's Tellin' Lies
  8. My Shadow
  9. We Don't Need It
  10. Just Lookin'
  11. Walk Through Fire
  12. Something Within
Compare Prices

6. Greatest Hits & More, Ray Charles

Due out Aug. 16.

Disc 1:

  1. Confession Blues
  2. This Love of Mine
  3. Can't You See Darling (What You're Doing to Me)
  4. A Sentimental Blues
  5. Don't Put All Your Dreams in One Basket
  6. Ain't That Fine
  7. Sittin On Top of the World
  8. See See Rider
  9. She's On the Ball
  10. Late in the Evening Blues
  11. Someday (Blues is My Middle Name)
  12. Baby Let Me Hold Your Hand
  13. Baby Won't You Please Come Home
  14. Kissa Me Baby
  15. Hey Now
  16. Heartbreaker
  17. You Be My Baby
  18. I'm Moving On
  19. Tell Me How Do You Feel
  20. What'd I Say

Disc 2 (Remixes):

  1. You Be My Baby
  2. A Sentimental Blues
  3. Can't You See Darlin (What You're Doing to Me)
  4. Georgia on My Mind
  5. Kissa Me Baby
  6. She's on the Ball
  7. Some Day (Blues Is My Middle Name)
  8. Ain't That Fine
  9. This Love of Mine
  10. What'd I Say
  11. I Got a Woman
  12. Tell Me How Do You Feel
  13. I'm Movin On
Compare Prices

7. Slow Grind, Various Artists

This compilation, which you may have seen advertised on TV, is loaded with sexy songs by some of the bigger names in R&B. It'll be in stores Aug. 2.


  1. Spotlight (by Jennifer Hudson)
  2. Unpredictable (no rap version) (Jamie Foxx)
  3. Need U Bad (Jazmine Sullivan)
  4. Lost Without U (Robin Thicke)
  5. With You (Chris Brown)
  6. Truth Is (Fantasia)
  7. Grind With Me (Pretty Ricky)
  8. Obsession (Frankie J. feat Baby Bash)
  9. No Air (Jordin Sparks & Chris Brown)
  10. Bed (J. Holiday)
  11. Let Me Love You (Mario)
  12. Better In Time (Leona Lewis)
  13. In Those Jeans (Ginuwine)
  14. Let Me Hold You (Bow Wow feat. Omarion)
  15. Promise (Ciara)
  16. When a Woman Loves (R. Kelly)
  17. I Look to You (Whitney Houston)
Compare Prices

8. Americana Rock Your Soul, Various Artists

This compilation of nostalgic R&B and blue-eyed Soul comes out in the U.S. Aug. 2 via the BBE label.


  1. I Love Music (performed by Babadu)
  2. Living Off the Love (Eric Tagg)
  3. Can't Hide Love (Jaye P. Morgan)
  4. I've Got The Feelin (James Walsh Gypsy Band)
  5. Thought You Ought To Know (Jesse McFall and The Funk Elegant Orchestra)
  6. My Girl Friday (Lil' Albert)
  7. Love One Another Mike Lundy)
  8. Coast To Coast (Tender Leaf)
  9. Just For You (1619 Bad Ass Band)
  10. A Little More Time (Michael Killen)
  11. Who Was It This Time (Breakaway)
  12. I Just Wanna Love You (Midnight Flyer)
  13. Four In The Morning [Goodking Edit] (Ian Willson)
  14. Slow Dancer (Life Force)
  15. Between Hello And Goodbye (Society Of Seven)
  16. Never Gonna Leave You (Evans Pyramid)
Compare Prices

9. Live in Minneapolis (CD/DVD), Alexander O'Neal

The veteran performer who first gained notoriety back in the 1980s as lead singer of Minneapolis band The Time before being replaced by Morris Day, returned to his hometown to record this live CD, which includes a bonus DVD. It drops Aug. 30.


  1. My House
  2. Aphrodisia
  3. All True Man
  4. What Can I Say to Make You Love Me
  5. Sunshine
  6. Criticize
  7. If You Were Here Tonight
  8. My Gift to You
  9. Sleigh Ride (feat. Bobby Z.)
  10. Love Makes No Sense

10. Feel the Fire: The 20th Century Collection, Stephanie Mills

A collection of Stephanie's three 20th Century Fox albums, released from 1979-1981.

Disc 1:

  1. What Cha Gonna Do With My Lovin
  2. You Can Get Over
  3. Deeper Inside Your Love
  4. Feel The Fire
  5. Put Your Body In It
  6. Starlight
  7. You And I
  8. Don't Stop Dancin
  9. Sweet Sensation
  10. Try My Love
  11. I Just Wanna Say
  12. Wish That You Were Mine
  13. D-A-N-C-I-N
  14. Still Mine
  15. Never Knew Love Like This Before
  16. Mixture Of Love
  17. Better Than Ever (Bonus Single)

Disc 2:

  1. Winner
  2. Two Hearts (feat Teddy Pendergrass)
  3. Don't Stop Doin' What 'Cha Do
  4. Top Of My List
  5. I Believe In Love Songs
  6. Night Games
  7. My Love's Been Good To You
  8. Magic
  9. What Cha Gonna Do With My Lovin (Single)
  10. Put Your Body In It (Single)
  11. You Can Get Over (Single)
  12. Sweet Sensation (Single)
  13. Two Hearts (feat Teddy Pendergrass) (Single)

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.