1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

New R&B/Soul Music: Jan. 2013

What's New?


The holiday season is officially over and so is the lull in new R&B and Soul music that occurred at the end of 2012. There aren't a whole lot of new albums expected to drop during the first month of 2013, but among the artists with planned January release dates are the timeless Charlie Wilson, former Danity Kane member Dawn Richard, Jeffrey Osbourne, Aaron Neville and the late Teena Marie, whose latest studio album was still only partially finished at the time of her sudden, surprising death in December 2010. For the full details of the month's new R&B and Soul music, have a look below.

1. 'Love, Charlie,' Charlie Wilson

Charlie Wilson, best known as the legendary voice of the Gap Band, is now on his sixth album as a solo artist. This is his first since December 2010's Just Charlie; it's due out Jan. 29.


  1. If I Believe
  2. I Still Have You
  3. I Think I'm in Love
  4. My Love is All I Have
  5. Our Anniversary
  6. Turn Off the Lights
  7. A Million Ways to Love You
  8. Show You
  9. My Baby
  10. Oooh Wee
  11. Say
  12. Whisper (feat. Keith Sweat)

2. 'Goldenheart,' Dawn Richard

GoldenHeart is the first major project that ex-Danity Kane and Diddy-Dirty Money vocalist Dawn Richard has released since her departure from Diddy's Bad Boy label. It drops Jan. 15.


  1. Intro (In The Hearts Tonight)
  2. Return of a Queen
  3. Goliath
  4. Riot
  5. Gleaux
  6. Northern Lights
  7. Pretty Wicked Things
  8. Frequency
  9. Warfaire
  10. Tug of War
  11. Ode to You
  12. 86
  13. In Your Eyes
  14. Break of Dawn
  15. [300]
  16. Goldenheart

3. 'No Beginning No End,' Jose James

Vocalist Jose James, whose music is a combo of modern Jazz, hip-hop and Soul, releases his latest solo album Jan. 22 via Blue Note Records.


  1. It's All Over Your Body
  2. Sword + Gun Feat. Hindi Zahra
  3. Trouble
  4. Vanguard
  5. Come to My Door
  6. Heaven On the Ground (feat. Emily King)
  7. Do You Feel
  8. Make It Right
  9. Bird of Space
  10. No Beginning No End
  11. Tomorrow
  12. Come To My Door (Acoustic Bonus Track)

4. 'Beautiful,' Teena Marie

Teena Marie was working on her 14th studio album when she died in 2010. The project, which comes out Jan. 15, was seen to completion by Teena's 20-year-old daughter Alia Rose, who sings with her Mom on two tracks, a cover of Curtis Mayfield's "Give Me Your Love" and "Rare Breed," which she co-wrote.


  1. Luv Letter
  2. Sweet Tooth
  3. Rare Breed
  4. Love Starved
  5. Definition of Down
  6. Maria Bonita
  7. Beautiful (For Alia)
  8. The Long Play
  9. Carte Blanche
  10. Give Me Your Love
  11. Wild Horses
  12. The Perfect Feeling

5. 'A Time for Love,' Jeffrey Osbourne

Singer Jeffrey Osborne and producer George Duke have reunited to remake some classic love songs and pop standards on A Time For Love. The album, which is being released on Jan. 29, comes out just in time for Valentine's Day.


  1. The Shadow of Your Smile (feat. Paul Jackson Jr.)
  2. Don't Let Me Be Lonely Tonight
  3. Baby, It's Cold Outside (feat. Chaka Khan)
  4. (They Long to Be) Close to You
  5. My One and Only Love (feat. Kamasi Washington)
  6. Smile (feat. George Duke)
  7. Teach Me Tonight (feat. Everette Harp)
  8. When I Fall in Love (feat. Rick Braun)
  9. What a Wonderful World
  10. Nature Boy (feat. Walt Fowle)
  11. You Don't Know What Love Is (feat. Rick Braun)
  12. A Time for Love (feat. Kamasi Washington)

6. 'My True Story,' Aaron Neville

Aaron Neville's My True Story is a collection of doo-wop remakes of some of the singer's favorite songs. The album, which was co-produced by Blue Note Records President Don Was and Keith Richards of the Rolling Stones, drops via Blue Note Jan. 22.


  1. Money Honey (Written by Jesse A. Stone)
  2. My True Story (Eugene Pitt and Oscar Waltzer)
  3. Ruby Baby (Jerry Leiber and Michael Stoller)
  4. Gypsy Woman (Curtis Mayfield)
  5. Ting a Ling (Nugetre)
  6. Be My Baby (Jeff Barry, Ellie Greenwich and Phil Spector)
  7. Little Bitty Pretty One (Robert J. Byrd)
  8. Tears On My Pillow (Sylvester Bradford and Al Lewis)
  9. Under The Boardwalk (Arthur Resnick and Kenny Young)
  10. Work With Me Annie (Hank Ballard)
  11. This Magic Moment/True Love (Medley) (Doc Pomus and Mort Shuman)
  12. Goodnight My Love [Pleasant Dreams] (John S. Marascalco and George Motola)

7. 'Love Songs,' Destiny's Child

Destiny's Child lives -- sort of. Music World Entertainment/Columbia Records/Legacy Recordings will release Destiny's Child - Love Songs, a new collection of the group's most sensual and romantic recordings, on Jan. 29 The set will include one newly recorded song, "Nuclear."


  1. Cater 2 U
  2. Killing Time
  3. Second Nature
  4. Heaven
  5. Now That She's Gone
  6. Brown Eyes
  7. If
  8. Emotion
  9. If You Leave (feat. Next)
  10. T-Shirt
  11. Temptation
  12. Say My Name (Timbaland remix)
  13. Love
  14. Nuclear

8. 'B Sides Collection,' Jon B.

1990s heartthrob Jon B. returns to the music scene with B Sides Collection, a compilation featuring 23 unreleased tracks that Jon wrote and produced between 2001 and 2012. It'll be available online beginning Jan. 29.


To Be Announced

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.