1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

May 2008 R&B Albums

What's New?


May 2008 is a huge month for R&B because of one album, Usher's Here I Am, which is the follow-up to his massively successful 2004 album, Confessions. Here I Am will be one of the biggest - if not the biggest album of the year, sales-wise. But there's plenty of other notable music coming out in May, including the latest from such veterans as Mint Condition, Keith Sweat and Donna Summer. The sleeper hit of the month though, just might turn out to be Lay It Down, the latest all-new album from Al Green, which features John Legend, Anthony Hamilton and Corinne Bailey Rae, plus production by ?uestlove of the Roots.

1. "Here I Stand," Usher

This long-awited album is Usher's first studio release since his 2004 breakthrough album, Confessions. If the reaction to the first single, "Love In This Club" is any indication, this will definitely be of the biggest selling albums of the year, if not the biggest. It'll be released on May 27.

Track Listing
1. Intro
2. Love In This Club (feat. Young Jeezy)
3. This Ain’t Sex
4. Trading Places
5. Moving Mountains
6. What’s Your Name? (feat. will.i.am)
7. Prayer For You (Interlude)
8. Something Special
9. Love You Gently
10. Best Thing (feat. Jay-Z)
11. Before I Met You
12. His Mistakes (I Can't Win)
13. Appetite
14. What’s A Man To Do
15. Lifetime
16. Love In This Club Part II (feat. Beyoncé & Lil Wayne)
17. Here I Stand
18. (Hidden track)

2. "Rockferry," Duffy

She may not be the next Amy Winehouse - or even the next Joss Stone - but this young Welsh singer's got a considerable amount of Blue-Eyed Soul, which you already know if you've heard her debut single, "Mercy." Rockferry, which was released March 3 in the U.K., finally comes out on May 13 in the U.S.

Track Listing
1. Rockferry
2. Warwick Avenue
3. Serious
4. Stepping Stone
5. Syrup & Honey
6. Hanging on Too Long
7. Mercy
8. Delayed Devotion
9. I'm Scared
10 Distant Dreamer

3. "E-Life," Mint Condition

E-Life, which will be released in the U.S. on May 6, is one of the best R&B albums of 2008. By far. Mint Condition is a real band using real instruments to make real music about real issues that real people deal with in the real world.

Track Listing
1. Baby Boy, Baby Girl (feat. Anthony Hamilton)
2. Somethin'
3. Just Can't Believe
4. Goldigger
5. Gratitude
6. Nothing Left to Say
7. Right Here
8. E-Life
9. Why Do We Try
10. Back and Forth
11. Moan
12. Queen of Come Here Go Away
13. Wis I Could Love You (Pimp Juice)
14. Baby Boy, Baby Girl (Single Version)

4. "Lay It Down," Al Green

The Rev. Al's latest all-new project features John Legend, Anthony Hamilton and Corinne Bailey Rae, plus was co-produced with Green by two hip-hop innovaters, drummer Ahmir "?uestlove" Thompson (of the Roots) and keyboardist James Poyser. Lay It Down will be in stores May 27 on Blue Note Records.

Track Listing
1. Lay It Down (feat. Anthony Hamilton)
2. Just For Me
3. You've Got the Love I Need (feat. Anthony Hamilton)
4. No One Like You
5. What More Do You Want From Me
6. Take Your Time (feat. Corinne Bailey Rae)
7. Too Much
8. Stay With Me (By the Sea) (feat. John Legend)
9. All I Need
10. I'm Wild About You
11. Standing In the Rain

5. "The Truth," Cherish

The sophomore album of R&B-pop songs by this four-sister singing group from Atlanta will be in stores on May 13.

Track Listing
1. Killa (feat. Yung Joc)
2. I Ain't Trippin'
3. Amnesia
4. Notice
5. Framed Out
6. Before You Were My Man
7. Superstar
8. Only One
9. Love Sick
10. Damages
11. Like a Drum

6. "When Love Comes," Calvin Richardson

On his third album, Calvin Richardson goes for a throwback 1950s/'60s sound and tries to live up to his nickname of the New Prince of Soul. When Love Comes will be in stores on May 27.

Track Listing
1. Intro
2. Sexy Love
3. Holla At You
4. Fire in the Attic
5. Please You Baby
6. She's Hurtin'
7. Nobody Loves You
8. Give it to Me
9. Don't Go
10 Sang No More 11 Make Friends With Love
12 Daddy to My Kids
13 When Love Comes

7. "Crayons," Donna Summer

The legendary Donna Summer is back with a mix of up-tempo tunes and ballads. It's also her first album for Burgundy/Sony BMG. Crayons, her first studio album since 1991, comes out May 20.

Track Listing
1. Stamp Your Feet
2. Mr. Music
3. Crayons (feat. Ziggy Marley)
4. The Queen Is Back
5. Fame (The Game)
6. Sand on My Feet
7. Drivin' Down Brazil
8. I'm a Fire
9. Slide Over Backwards
10. Science of Love
11. Be Myself Again
12. Bring Down the Reign

8. "Just Me," Keith Sweat

I've listened to it once already, and although Just Me isn't as innovative as Keith's late '80s work, it's his most entertaining, least-begging album in at least 10 years. Those of you who used to be Keith Sweat fans, or still are, will probably dig the album's mellow, sophisticated vibe. It'll be in stores on May 13.

Track Listing
1. Somebody (feat. Chris "F.L.L" Conner)
2. The Floor
3. Girl Of My Dreams
4. Sexiest Girl
5. Butterscotch (feat. Athena Cage)
6. Me And My Girl
7. Suga Suga Suga (feat. Paisley Bettis)
8. Never Had A Lover
9. Love You Better (feat. Keyshia Cole)
10 Just Wanna Sex You
11 What's A Man To Do
12 Teach Me

9. "Just Kita," Nikita Germaine

© RNLG/Koch Records.
The sophomore album by R&B vocalist Nikita features the single "911 L.O.V.E." It will be released May 13 via RNLG/Koch Records.

Track Listing
1. 911 L.O.V.E.
2. La La la
3. Over & Over
4. Blood Rushin' Thru My Veins
5. Enough is Enough
6. It's So Nice
7. Because of You (Interlude)
8. Mmmm
9. I Just Wanna
10 What Am I Supposed to Do?
11 My Life
12 One Day
13 Pray
14 You Want Me
15 Because Of You
16 911 L.O.V.E. (Dance Remix)

Compare Prices

10. "Trust Me," Craig David

Is it just me or is British singer Craig David starting to look more and more like fellow Brit David Beckham? Anyway, after a delay of several weeks, Craig's latest will finally be in U.S. stores on May 6.

Track Listing
1. Hot Stuff (Let's Dance)
2. 6 Of 1 Thing
3. Friday Night
4. Awkward
5. Just A Reminder
6. Officially Yours
7. Kinda Girl For Me
8. She's On Fire
9. Don't Play With Our Love
10 Top Of The Hill
11 This Is The Girl
12 Hot Stuff (Let's Dance) Touch Mix (Bonus Track)
13 Hot Stuff (Let's Dance) Chase & Status Remix (Bonus Track)

Compare Prices

11. "Love Forever Shines," Regina Belle

This album could have been called Regina Goes Gospel, 'cause that's that's exactly what it is. Although her name is synonymous with '90s smooth R&B, Regina has decided to try her hand at more spiritual songs. She says, though, that she'll go back to R&B after this album, which comes out on May 13.

Track Listing
1. Love Forever Shines
2. Can't Nobody
3. Who Touched Me
4. God Is Good
5. Almost Slipped
6. I Hope He Understands
7. Victory
8. God Said
9. Good to Be Loved
10 Come Into This Place
11 Coming Out of This
12 I Call on Jesus
13 My Destiny
14 I'll Never Leave You Alone
15 Come Into This Place
16 Coming Out of This
17 I Call on Jesus
18 My Destiny
19 I'll Never Leave You Alone

Compare Prices

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.