1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

New R&B/Soul Music: March 2013

What's New?


Singer-actor Justin Timberlake isn't really a full-fledged R&B/Soul artist, but he leads the list of artists releasing albums during March 2013, mainly because no other urban singer releasing an album during the month matches his star power. The closest is Brian McKnight, who'll try to reverse years of declining popularity with his latest album. Also coming out this month: the final studio album by the late singer Vesta Williams; the debut EP by Marcus Canty, who's a veteran of the U.S. version of the reality show "X Factor;" and the first project by a new Soul duo that goes by the name of Lady. For full details, have a look below.

1. 'The 20/20 Experience,' Justin Timberlake

After a seven year gap between albums, JT's third release comes out March 19. It's the follow-up to 2006's FutureSex/LoveSounds and features collaborations with producers Timbaland and Jerome "J-Roc" Harmon as well as a guest appearance from Jay-Z on the first single, "Suit & Tie."


  1. Pusher Love Girl
  2. Suit & Tie (feat. Jay-Z)
  3. Don't Hold the Wall
  4. Strawberry Bubblegum
  5. Tunnel Vision
  6. Spaceship Coupe
  7. That Girl
  8. Let the Groove Get In
  9. Mirrors
  10. Blue Ocean Floor
Compare Prices

2. 'More Than Words,' Brian McKnight

Now that Brian McKnight's put the controversy over his sexually explicit song "If You're Ready to Learn" behind him (he claims the whole thing was a joke) he's back to making what's he's known best for: tender, heartwarming (and squeaky clean) love ballads. His latest album drops March 19.


  1. Don't Stop
  2. Letsomebodyluvu
  3. 4th of July
  4. Sweeter
  5. She Doesn't Know
  6. More Than Words
  7. Nothing But a Thang
  8. Livewithoutyou
  9. Made For Love
  10. Get U 2 Stay
  11. Slow
  12. Another
  13. Trying Not to Fall Asleep
  14. Ididntreallymeantoturnuout
  15. Front, The Back, The Side

3. 'Seven,' Vesta

The singer Vesta Williams, best known for her 1989 hit "Congratulations," died of heart disease in September 2011. Her seventh and final studio album is slated for a March 26 release.


  1. Water On the World
  2. Better Days
  3. Silly
  4. What Is This
  5. Hold On
  6. Five Ways
  7. All You Girls
  8. Dedicated
  9. Can We Talk About It
  10. Truth of the Matter
  11. Rewind

4. 'Speak Me,' The Tony Rich Project

Tony Rich, aka The Tony Rich Project, is primarily known for his mid-'90s hit "Nobody Knows," but although you might not hear much about him these days, he's still an active recording artist. His seventh studio album, Speak Me, is due out March 19 via the Hidden Beach label.


  1. Speak Me
  2. The Light
  3. Fade Away
  4. 9 Lives
  5. Like No Tomorrow
  6. Delete
  7. Feels Like Winter
  8. Breaking Glass
  9. Feed Me
  10. Say You Didn't Mean It
  11. Don't You Love Her

5. 'Say Yes,' Phil Perry

On March 12, Shanachie Entertainment will release Say Yes, the latest solo album by veteran R&B-Jazz singer-songwriter Phil Perry. His latest project is a mix of original songs and remakes of classic tunes.


  1. You Send Me
  2. Where is the Love (feat. Chante Moore)
  3. Tonight Just Me and You (feat. Najee)
  4. You Belong to Me
  5. Say Yes
  6. Just a Little Bit
  7. The Long and Winding Road
  8. Peel the Veil
  9. Can't Hide Love (feat. Najee)
  10. Bridge Over Troubled Water

6. 'Lady,' Lady

This group may have a generic name, but it's made up of two unique singers: Terri Walker and Nicole Wray. Their debut album, which is a combination of old school Soul, some hip-hop and a little pop, is due in digital stores March 5 and physical stores March 12 via Truth & Soul Records.


  1. Tell the Truth
  2. Money
  3. Hold On
  4. Get Ready
  5. Karma
  6. Sweet Lady
  7. Please Don't Do It Again
  8. Good Lovin'
  9. Habit
  10. If You Wanna Be My Man
  11. Waiting On You

7. 'This ... is Marcus Canty,' Marcus Canty

After being pushed back a couple of times, the debut EP by this 22 year old Washington, D.C. native and former "X Factor" reality show contestant finally drops March 5.


  1. In & Out (feat. Wale)
  2. Don't Pass Me By
  3. Used By You
  4. Tonight
  5. Three Words
  6. Not Looking
  7. Stay in Love

8. 'Back to the Future,' Las Supper

Who is Las Supper? They're a new R&B/Soul group with a classic sound, led by hip-hop legend Big Daddy Kane. Their debut album is due out March 26.


  1. I Believe in Love Again
  2. Child in Me
  3. Keep On Shining
  4. Heart of Gold
  5. Last Chance
  6. A Mother's Love
  7. My Day Without You
  8. Shhh!
  9. Shackles of the Mind
  10. Where Do We Do (From Here)
  11. I Can't Believe (feat. Garfield Fleming & Yahzarah)
  12. Lifted Express (Don't Funk With My Beat)

9. 'All Around the World,' Mindless Behavior

Pop/R&B boy band Mindless Behavior release their futuristic sophomore album March 12 through Interscope Records.


  1. All Around the World
  2. Keep Her On the Low
  3. Used to Be
  4. I Lean
  5. Pretty Girl
  6. I'm Falling
  7. Ready for Love
  8. Band-Aid
  9. Forever
  10. Video
  11. Brightside

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.