1. Entertainment
Send to a Friend via Email

Your suggestion is on its way!

An email with a link to:


was emailed to:

Thanks for sharing About.com with others!

You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

New R&B/Soul Music in June 2011

What's New?


Of the R&B/Soul releases for the month of June, the top two artists are both extremely popular, but couldn't be more different when it comes to musical style and substance. First there's Soul poet Jill Scott, whose first album since she left Hidden Beach Recordings, The Light of the Sun, is due out June 21. Then there's pop-R&B superstar Beyonce, who's fourth studio album, 4, drops on June 28. Other artists coming out with new material during the month include Jagged Edge and a couple of singers various acts who have smaller, but very loyal followings: Ledisi and Keke Wyatt. Look below for the full details.

1. The Light of the Sun, Jill Scott

Jilly from Philly drops her new project on us June 21 via Blues Babe/Warner Bros. Records.


  1. Blessed
  2. So In Love (feat. Anthony Hamilton)
  3. Shame (feat. Eve & the A Group)
  4. All Cried Out Redux (feat. Doug E. Fresh)
  5. Le BOOM Vent Suite
  6. So Gone (What My Mind Says) feat. Paul Wall
  7. Hear My Call
  8. Some Other Time
  9. Making You Wait
  10. Until Then (I Imagine)
  11. Missing You
  12. When I Wake Up
  13. Womanifesto
  14. Rolling Hills
  15. The Light of the Sun

2. 4, Beyonce

Ms. Knowles' fourth studio album comes out June 28 via Columbia Records.


  1. 1+1
  2. I Care
  3. I Miss You
  4. Best Thing I Never Had
  5. Party (feat. Andre 3000)
  6. Rather Die Young
  7. Start Over
  8. Love On Top
  9. Countdown
  10. End of Time
  11. I Was Here
  12. Run the World (Girls)

3. Pieces of Me, Ledisi

Ledisi's follow up to her groundbreaking 2009 R&B album Turn Me Loose is due for release June 14 via the Verve Forecast label.


  1. Pieces of Me
  2. So Into You
  3. Bravo
  4. Stay Together
  5. Coffee
  6. Hate Me
  7. Shut Up
  8. Shine
  9. I Miss You Now
  10. BGTY
  11. Raise Up
  12. I Gotta Get to You
Compare Prices

4. The Remedy, Jagged Edge

This will be four-man vocal group Jagged Edge's first album since Baby Makin' Project in 2007. It comes out June 21 via Miami-based hip-hop label Slip-N-Slide.


  1. Intro
  2. Love On You
  3. Baby
  4. Flow Thru My Veins
  5. My Girl
  6. I Need a Woman
  7. Lipstick (feat. Rick Ross)
  8. Space Ship
  9. Lay You Down
  10. Let's Make Love
  11. When the Bed Shakes
  12. Mr. Wrong

5. Unbelievable!, Keke Wyatt

Keke's second album in the past 16 months, and fifth overall, is due to drop June 14 via the Shanachie Records label.


  1. Light Me Up
  2. Unbelievable
  3. Mirror (feat. Kelly Price and Tweet)
  4. Love Under New Management
  5. Tap Out
  6. Saturday Love (feat. Ruben Studdard)
  7. Miss Your Plane
  8. Enough
  9. Travel the World (Love Uses Time)
  10. Tears in Heaven
  11. His Eye on the Sparrow

6. Got to Get Back!, The Bo-Keys

This eight-man band of Memphis musicians who are heavily inspired and influenced by '70s R&B and Funk, releases it's latest album on June 21.


  1. Hi Roller
  2. Got to Get Back (to My Baby)
  3. Just Chillin'
  4. Catch This Teardrop
  5. Jack and Ginger
  6. Sundown on Beale
  7. Weak Spot
  8. 90 Days Same as Cash
  9. I'm Going Home
  10. Cauley Flower
  11. Work That Sucker
  12. Got to Get Back (to My Baby) Pt. 2

7. Songs In A Minor - 10th Anniversary Edition (Deluxe Edition), Alicia Keys

It was in 2001 that Alicia Keys' debut album set her on the path to superstardom. And in recognition, a deluxe edition comes out June 28 via Sony Legacy.

Disc 1:

  1. Piano & I
  2. Girlfriend
  3. How Come You Don't Call Me
  4. Fallin'
  5. Troubles
  6. Rock Wit U
  7. A Woman's Worth
  8. Jane Doe
  9. Goodbye
  10. The Life
  11. Mr. Man (feat. Jimmy Cozier)
  12. Never Felt This Way (interlude)
  13. Butterflyz
  14. Why Do I Feel So Sad
  15. Caged Bird
  16. Lovin U

Disc 2:

  1. Woman's Worth (Remix) feat. Nas
  2. Juiciest (Mixtape Version)
  3. If I Were Your Woman (Funky Blues Demo)
  4. Fallin' (Ali Soundtrack Version)
  5. Typewriter (From the Songs In A Minor vault)
  6. Butterflyz (Drumline Mix)

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.